You are here:Home>> Discover Sanya >> City planning

Planning scale


The general city planning consists of municipal area planning, coastal area planning, and urban planning.

The administration area of Sanya covers 191906 square kilometers.

The coastal area includes the main urbean district and Haitangwan Town, Tianya Town, and Yacheng Town. This area is a strip-shaped coastal area covering an area of 1,250 square kilometers. This area boasts a lot of tourism resources and highlights the characteristics of the tropical coastal city. Within the planning area, there are land for the important infrastructure, scenic spots, environmental protecting zone, ecology monitored zone, and the offshore sea area.

 The coastal tourism zone includes coastal scenic spots, the city-view tourism zone, and the ecological zone of health and leisure at the foot of the hills in the northern part of the city.

The coastal scenic spots in the east part of the urban area (including Dadonghai Bay, Yalongwan Bay and Haitang Bay) will be as seaside leisure resorts. Yalongwan Bay is a international resort. Dadonghai bay is the domestic and international resort. The Haipo District is a domestic-market-oriented resort. The coastal area including Tianya-haijiao Park, Nanshan Buddhism Culture Zone, and Yacheng Bay is a tourism zone featuring scenic spots and theme parks.

 The ecological zone of health and leisure

With the advantage of the tourism resource in the mountain areas to the north of Sanya, a ecological zone of health and leisure is developed with hotspring SPA zones, golf courses and clubs, tropical horticulture arboretums (botanical gardens) and other tourism resorts. It is an expansion zone of the Sanya tourism area.


The main urban district of scenery

Developing various urban tourism projects by utilizing various resources along the Sanya Bay.