Home>News center>News

Sanya Yazhou Bay strengthens scientific innovation

Print chinadaily.com.cn Updated: 2022-06-23

Sanya Yazhou Bay Science and Technology City is home to 11 well-known universities, 17 scientific research institutions, 81 foreign-funded enterprises, and 131 national high-tech enterprises, according to a Hainan Free Trade Port press conference on June 21.

Sanya Yazhou Bay Science and Technology City is a key park of Hainan FTP. Since its construction in 2019, it has been increasing its national strategic scientific and technological strength and focusing on Nanfan Silicon Valley and deep-sea technology development.

To date, the park has introduced 11 well-known domestic universities such as Shanghai Jiaotong University, Zhejiang University, Ocean University of China, China Agricultural University, and Wuhan University of Technology, as well as 17 scientific research institutions such as the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, and Chinese Academy of Thermal Sciences.

It is home to 7,043 registered enterprises, of which 21 are State-owned enterprises, including leading enterprises such as China Merchants Group, China Jinmao Holdings Group, China State Shipbuilding Corporation, and China National Seed Group. In addition, it is home to 15 Fortune Global 500 enterprises, 131 national high-tech enterprises, and 81 foreign-funded enterprises.

When it comes to talent cultivation, the 12 graduate units have trained 1,228 master's and doctoral students, and also attracted 26 academicians and 40 research teams to carry out scientific research focusing on the fields of Nanfan and deep seas.

The CAS Seeds Research Center in Sanya Yazhou Bay Science and Technology City. [Photo/IC]

Copyright © 2021 Sanya Municipal Government. All rights reserved. 

Presented by China Daily.